terewroulette.blogg.se

Laycock overdrive p type
Laycock overdrive p type




laycock overdrive p type

Once someone put these in a Slant six, it will be easy for everyone who follows. But I have a fair amount of work every weekend if I want it. A lot of my business, is from people who have had a bad experience with GEAR VENDOR INC and they need parts, rebuilds and adapters I make. To be honest ,selling a lot of these is not my main goal. I think he got tired of replying to my many questions and kind of fired me. Here is what Glenn wrote in his last email. The gear oil gets warmer in an o/d transmission than direct drive and the o/d transmission is noisier, although the Laycock uses a planetary gear set that lasts longer than a T5 fifth gear.

laycock overdrive p type

Some BMWs and other cars use direct drive in this way. There is less friction losses with direct drive and the lower numerical differential also has less friction. I think that you might want two extra gears at the low end to cover the same spread as an o/d. I think the overdrive is used because its cheaper to have a single wide spaced overdrive as it is not as noticeable to the driver. I eventually replaced all this with a 4L60. I used a clutch hub and drive shaft yoke as the basis for the front coupler.Īll this requires lots of underfloor space. I made a cradle type crossmember to support it and form the basis for the auto trans/underdrive adpter.

laycock overdrive p type

This was a 70s all synchro box from an Econoline. I have used a Ford 3spd with reverse and low removed to make an underdrive.






Laycock overdrive p type